Kinan Guide on the Go

Kumano Hayatama Taisha

Content Number:20604

Kumano Hayatama Taisha
As one of the Kumano Sanzan, Kumano Hayatama Taisha heads the thousands of Kumano shrines venerated throughout the country. About two thousand years ago it was moved to its present location from the original shrine of Mt. Kamikura, from which time it was known as ""Shingu"" (new shrine) as opposed to the ""Furumiya"" (former shrine) of Kamikura shrine.
The shrine houses twelve gods, including the main gods Kumano Izanaginomikoto and Kumano Izanaminomikoto, who represent the supreme authority of Shingu.
When you enter the shrine you will find three weathered cypress-bark-roofed shrine buildings. From the left they are the building that houses the first and second halls, the building that houses the third hall and the building that houses the fourth hall. The shrine is famous for its sacred nagi tree (which is more than one thousand years old), its cypress fans (which are designated national treasures) and its lacquered chest.

Watch Video

Kumano Hayatama Taisha
Back to gSelect Categoryh
Back to the Home Page


(C) Wakayama Prefecture